exclamation-circle Frage Can't cut more them 10 mm

Mehr
01 Dez 2017 19:58 #51447 von Otero.0
Can't cut more them 10 mm wurde erstellt von Otero.0
Hi guys,

I'm pretty new to this cnc thing. Although I've been able to complete some projects I keep having this issue of breaking bits when i go deeper than 10 mm.

This issue only happens when I’m performing a 2d contour (Fusion 360).

My configs:
Stepcraft 840
HF Spindle at 16k - 18k RPM
End Mill - 3 mm
Stepover - 1.5 mm
Feed rate - 1000 mm/min to 1500 mm/min

The thing is that, when I’m cutting MDF or in this last case pine (soft woods) at more or less 10 mm I start hearing this strange vibration and i notice that the bit touches the walls and breaks.

I've tried some different feeds and speeds but I never had successes with a thickness bigger then 3mm.

What’s annoying me is that when I do a pocket process this vibration happens on the first run and then stops and I can go deeper than 12 mm.

Please I could use some help here. Thank you for your time.

Dieser Beitrag enthält Bilddateien.
Bitte anmelden (oder registrieren) um sie zu sehen.

Bitte Anmelden oder Registrieren um der Konversation beizutreten.

Mehr
02 Dez 2017 16:43 #51452 von Deltaflyer
Deltaflyer antwortete auf Can't cut more them 10 mm
Hey,
do you cut the 10mm deep in one pass? Maybe choose more passes.
How long is the cutting edge of the milling cutter?
Note: a 3mm cutter may have a 1/8 "(3.175mm) shank, then you get the problem that the shank of the cutter is in the milling groove and therefore the cutter breaks.
Then you have to see if you can buy a cutter with a longer cutting edge, or at least a milling cutter, whose shank is the same thickness, or thinner than the cutting diameter.
Greetings Stefan

Mein Tag hat 24 Stunden und reicht dies mal nicht nehm ich noch die Nacht dazu.

Mehr
02 Dez 2017 20:36 #51457 von frankjoke
frankjoke antwortete auf Can't cut more them 10 mm