question-circle Frage Newbie: Stepcraft for carving a plastic box?

Mehr
17 Nov 2014 11:19 - 17 Nov 2014 11:20 #10634 von julius
Hello, I'm a rookie about CNC milling, so I'm collecting any kind of information about... almost everything (machines, spindles, software, etc.)

Here my question: can a Stepcraft machine (i.e. the SC 300) be used to carve a little cube of PVC or POM material in order to make a potting box (ein Vergussgehäuse)?

I need to produce a little amount of small enveloping box (around 50x50x50mm) for a small electronic device with a display on the top.
As I understand there is no theoretical limit in doing so for a Stepcraft machine, I'm right? :blush:

SC300 + Spindle HF500 + Portalerhöhung + LinuxCNC + gsimple
Letzte Änderung: 17 Nov 2014 11:20 von julius.

Bitte Anmelden oder Registrieren um der Konversation beizutreten.

• MagIO2
  • MagIO2s Avatar
  • Forum Nutzer
  • Forum Nutzer
  • Zu viele Ideen und zu wenig Zeit
Mehr
17 Nov 2014 16:22 #10640 von MagIO2
Hi Julius!

POM an PVC is everydays business for our steppis.

So, I'd say the limit is whatever you can do in 2.5D and with milling cutters with a cutting depth of 10mm.

Maybe you should post some CAD images of the boxes you plan to build. When saying "Vergussgehäuse", do you mean that you want to mill the casting mold with the steppi?

SC 420 mit DIY parallel + Proxxon mit Mod + HF500 + SprintLayout + LibreCAD/QCAD + FreeCAD +WinPC starter/USB->EstlCAM + EstlCAM LPTAdapter + EstlCAM Handrad + DIY Vakuumtisch

Gruß, Andreas

Mehr
17 Nov 2014 22:00 - 17 Nov 2014 22:02 #10660 von julius
Hello MagIO2,
so maybe I'm just dreaming in doing something like that?

Dieses Bild ist für Gäste verborgen.
Bitte anmelden oder registrieren um das Bild zu sehen.

Obviously all internal corners will be rounded, they depends on the size of the bit.