file Frage Tool changes

• woodendonkey
  • woodendonkeys Avatar Autor
  • Forum Nutzer
  • Forum Nutzer
Mehr
02 Jan 2015 22:57 #12958 von woodendonkey
Tool changes wurde erstellt von woodendonkey
I'm a newbie looking to benefit from others' experience.

I've seen comments (from Rory) that "we don't like tool changes" - why not?

If I change tools in a job (say v-bit for end mill) I'm concerned at the pressure I am putting on the portal/Z-axis.

Can this cause problems with alignment of the job? Should I move X-axis all the way to the end switch to change tools? Am I worrying about nothing? I've not yet encountered problems (other than forgetting to re-set Z-zero after tool change - d'oh)

One thing I have found (confessions of a newbie here) is if you don't tighten the collet properly on the bit, it can seem fine until you plunge a few mm when the friction of the bit against wood is enough to cause the bit to rotate in the collet instead of cutting wood - very puzzling when it happens! This is what led to this post - I now exert significant torque with the spanner on the nut when fitting a bit, to make sure it is tight.

Hints 'n' tips greatly appreciated.

Donald

Donald

Learning from mistakes until I become an expert!

Bitte Anmelden oder Registrieren um der Konversation beizutreten.

• MagIO2
  • MagIO2s Avatar
  • Forum Nutzer
  • Forum Nutzer
  • Zu viele Ideen und zu wenig Zeit
Mehr
02 Jan 2015 23:30 - 02 Jan 2015 23:34 #12959 von MagIO2
MagIO2 antwortete auf Tool changes
For each job that requires a tool change you should find a point where it is comfortable for you to change the tool. I tend to set this point as park position in WinPC NC, so for a tool-change you simply hit F9 and the SC goes to this position. Forgetting about adjusting the Z null happens more frequently when you are a beginer. When you destroyed some expensive parts like PCB end mills or maybe the machine table you will become more cautious. ;)