file Frage New 420 owner

Mehr
28 Dez 2017 21:00 #51860 von Giles
New 420 owner wurde erstellt von Giles
Hi, my dear wife (with my knowledge) very kindly bought me a 420 for Christmas, which I will use largely for profiling brass and nickel silver. I have previously been using a little Proxxon Pantograph engraver, which I converted to a very light mill - but this should be very much more capable.
I've just spent two days assembling it - and am exceedingly impressed with the quality of design and manufacture. As I design engineering bits myself for a living, it's a pleasure to see something as well thought through. It went together with no problems whatsoever.

Not so the software of course.... the UCCNC (with the 420 -2 profile loaded) is constantly in error mode, regardless of whether the machine us plugged in or not..... I have yet to get to the bottom of this (its not he machine, and certainly not the emergency stop button)

Any suggestions would be very gratefully received!

Thank you

Giles

Bitte Anmelden oder Registrieren um der Konversation beizutreten.

Mehr
28 Dez 2017 21:46 #51862 von peterg1000
peterg1000 antwortete auf New 420 owner
Hi Giles,

Try running the UCCNC software in demo mode (usb disconnected) just to check that it all installed correctly.

If not, you can download UCCNC from the CNCdrive website - it wont have any bells and whistles that Stepcraft have introduced, but it's a fully functional industrial application that I for one have always used "as is" at its various up issues without problems.

I would suspect that if the software runs without the UC100 connected but fails if it is, then the fault may be with the UC100.

When you say the UCCNC is "constantly in error mode", what exactly do you mean?

Peter

SC 420/2, Industrial VFD spindle from StoneyCNC
UC100 + UCCNC
Cut2D, Autosketch10, Draftsight, Eagle 9.5.1

There is no problem, however simple, that cannot be made more complicated by thinking about it.