Suche
Lieber Nutzer, die Forumssoftware wurde aktualisiert. Für die Erstanmeldung musst Du bitte dein Passwort zurücksetzen.
Dear user, the forum software has been updated. For the first login please reset your password.
Benachrichtigungen
Alles löschen

Ball Screw replacement for wearing thread nuts

93 Beiträge
20 Benutzer
0 Likes
46.4 K Ansichten
 Ryan
(@proto)

The thing that grates with me is that the originator suggested cutting a flat on the ball nut to make it fit - ughh!! Milling a shallow recess in the mounting plate would seem a more rational engineering solution - more difficult though I agree....

I agree, not sure what his logic was.

Could anyone be kind enough to explain how the ends are different, and just the basic differences between a lead screw/ball screw? I'm a bit new to all this and haven't really researched that aspect so far.

I'm kind of disappointed to read about these problems when I haven't even started using my machine yet!

Peter, like you, I want to do some basic prototype PCB's and also some stuff with aluminum (or aluminium 🙂 ).

Veröffentlicht : 09/10/2016 10:40 pm
Doug
 Doug
(@doug)
Reputable Member

I'm interested in this modification in the longer term. I haven't even started using my machine yet though!

I could swallow a couple of hundred pounds for a significant upgrade to improve backlash and longevity.

Doug

Stepcraft 2/840, StoneyCNC industrial HF spindle, 4th axis, TurboCAD 2016 Professional 64 bit, MeshCAM, GWizard feeds & speeds calculator, UCCNC
Hobby use: guitar building (luthiery), https://dsgb.net

Veröffentlicht : 09/10/2016 11:50 pm
(@peterg1000)
Reputable Member

Hi,

Sorry - I've been a bit lax in my terminology, I written lead screw on occasions when I should have said ball screw. I think lead screw is properly applied when an Acme or similar thread is used - but I will bow the those more knowledgeable than I.