question-circle Question Cutter knife and... gum?

• julius
  • julius's Avatar Topic Author
  • Forum Nutzer
  • Forum Nutzer
More
10 May 2015 23:43 - 10 May 2015 23:44 #20465 by julius
Cutter knife and... gum? was created by julius
I've no experience in using a cutter knife on a cnc-router, I hope that someone of you can answer to my question: it is possible to use the cutter provided from Stepcraft to cut a rubber-plate 1.5mm thick?

I'm talking not about hard-rubber material (i.e. vulcanized gum) but flexible rubber with hardness around 60-70° Shore-A. In particular, I'm worry about making 90-degree cuts, how can it be done with a knife?

I found a video on youtube, here you can see the cnc-machine making cut that I want by simply lifting up and down the blade. It is possible to do something like that with the Stepcraft cutter?

Cutting Leather With The Donek Drag Knife

SC300 + Spindle HF500 + Portalerhöhung + LinuxCNC + gsimple
Last edit: 10 May 2015 23:44 by julius.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

• MagIO2
  • Forum Nutzer
  • Forum Nutzer
  • Zu viele Ideen und zu wenig Zeit
More
11 May 2015 07:45 #20467 by MagIO2
Replied by MagIO2 on topic Cutter knife and... gum?
The tool in the videos is a little bit more professional. The cutter can be turned by software/controller. The SC cutting tool is turned while cutting by the cutting forces.

I did not test it up to now, but Inkscape nowadays has a nice feature to export a file as HPGL. The export tool behind allows to do the correction for cutters that cut behind the center. This should give you a file where 90° turns produce real 90° corners. Maybe this together with a "dive into" to set the knife in the right direction would give the best results on the SC.